Just a few of the testimonials from our customers we've received over the years....

  • We can’t recommend Chris and his team of friendly landscapers highly enough. From our initial contact up to our finished garden project, Chris and his team always kept us in the loop and were absolute professional.
    Before our garden was done, we only had a lawn, without any focal points and any interesting features and a slope we couldn’t really do anything with.
    Now we love to sit outside in the garden and enjoy exploring our new winded sandstone path, our lovely pergola and the wonderful raised beds and flower planting areas. Chris and his team kept us updated with the daily planned tasks and included us proactively in the decision of how the path, pergola and raised beds shall look, thus to achieve our dream garden together. Our sloped garden is now even an advantage as it gives us a wonderful landscape.
    We are over the moon with our lovely garden and planting has already started.

    • Steve and Rosie
    • via email
  • From our first contact with Chris, we were very impressed by his excitement and enthusiasm for our project. He went to a lot of trouble to show us projects his company had carried out that were similar to what we were looking for. In so doing, he suggested features and materials that added great value to the overall design that we had commissioned separately.

    Then when the team arrived and started work we were amazed at how rapidly and hard they worked each and every day, whatever the weather. Expertly led and managed by Nic, they were a real team who were a pleasure to have around. They couldn’t have been more cooperative, considerate and helpful. Their enthusiasm, skills, attention to detail and willingness to get everything right and just as we wanted it were outstanding.

    Despite challenges over the supply of materials during the pandemic, Chris made sure everything that was needed was available when required. Chris dropped in at least once a week to make sure that we were happy and to discuss any adaptations to the design as the project progressed. He was always available for a chat as we went through the project.

    When we commissioned the design, we weren’t sure how closely it could be realised. As the project progressed, we became more and more confident that we would see the design implemented. We are absolutely thrilled with the outcome, which exceeded our expectations. Chris, Nic, Val, Eugene, Dan and Geoff did a brilliant job; well done and thank you.

    • Jeannette and Chris
    • email
  • Chris and his whole team are fantastic. They’ve done many landscaping jobs for me over the years and always deliver to a very high standard with excellent craftsmanship. We’ve always been delighted with the work they’ve done for us, big and smaller jobs. The team are polite, trustworthy and tidy and work hard to get the job finished on time.

    • Sandra Whelan
    • email
  • We were impressed with the speed and efficiency of the team, who were always willing to liaise with us to ensure we were happy with what they were doing.
    A profession finish which has enhanced the value of our garden.
    Exactly as we envisaged. Thank you!

    • Angela Hughes
    • Email
  • Garden redesigned, cleared and patio created. Absolutely delighted with the result. Work completed ahead of time - extremely professional company - worked throughout all weathers. Have greatly enjoyed the result and would highly recommend.

    • Tara Gratton
    • Google Review
  • The team at Golden Stones Laid me a new patio this summer. Im over the moon with the finish. Chris and the team were helpful in the ideas to improve the design. I have since had them back to erect some fencing and again another great job. They come highly recommended.

    • Andy Wood
    • Google Review
  • Chris and the guys recently completed a garden make over for us that we are so happy with. The finish exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail and quality were fantastic. Great experience from start to finish for our project. Would highly recommend

    • Sarah
  • Chris and his team are our go-to gardening and landscapers since we moved to the area about 8yrs ago. Their quality of work and attention to detail is outstanding, building dry stone walls, patios and various raised flower and veg beds for us.

    They've shown great manners, respect for neighbours and always tidy up extremely well. I have no problem recommending Chris and the team to anybody.

    • Gareth Reynolds
  • Various landscaping jobs done for us over the last few years. Competitively priced and very well executed.

    • David Edmonston
  • I have used Goldenstones for the past couple of years for general garden maintenance and for several landscaping projects. I have always found them to be responsive, reliable, professional and keen to ensure that I, as the customer, was satisfied.

    • David Walls
  • Have used these guys for many years for maintenance, tree work and also landscaping projects. Really good attention to detail and they work like trojans! Very highly recommended.

    • Martin Holloway
  • Fantastic work repairing a large section of Cotswold stone wall, they also built new steps leading from the road to our house, they match the traditional Cotswold stone on the house and are very in keeping with the surroundings. Very tidy and efficient workmen- Thank you.

    • Sarah Straford
  • Excellent service every time

    • NICOLE NEL
  • V helpful, keen to offer a good service and offer value for money.

    • Sue W
  • Excellent, personalised service with a great product and finish. Very helpful.

    • Naomi Turner
See all

Golden Stones Gardening IconGolden Stones Gardening

Stroud, Tetbury, cotswolds Glos

5.0 46 reviews

  • Avatar Shani Wills ★★★★★ a week ago
    Chris and the team just replaced two fence runs for us, one with concrete posts and gravel boards (complete with hedgehog holes!), and the other with wood. Very impressed with how quick and efficient they were, finishing the whole job in … More just over a day. The result is exactly what we'd agreed with a high quality finish, and I think they left the garden tidier than when they arrived! One of our neighbours had good things to say about Chris after some garden re-modelling he did for them a while back, and we'd also highly recommend him.
  • Avatar Janette Pearson ★★★★★ a month ago
    Our project was a driveway extension and improvement to an existing decked area at the front of the house. The job involved removing a large amount of soil from the raised front garden.Goldenstones is a very professional company - Chris … More was very helpful throughout, from the initial design ideas to the finished project, patiently taking on board last minute design changes made by us without concern. Everything went smoothly, including the unexpected exposure of an underground electric cable, which was handled quickly and professionally. The team worked very hard, even erecting a gazebo so they could continue working during the wet weather, and the job was completed on schedule. Val, the project leader, was very helpful, even fixing various unrelated patio slabs and wall copings for us.We are very pleased with the end results - we now have somewhere flat to park up our van and can’t wait to sit out on the improved decking come Spring! We have no hesitation in recommending Chris and his team - we will certainly be using them again for future projects - the only problem we envisage will be availability, due to the demand for their excellent work!
  • Avatar frank rogerson ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Chris and his team have completed a number of soft and hard landscaping projects for us over recent years. Without exception we have been delighted with all of them. The plantings are fully established and looked terrific this year and … More promise more in the future. The extensive stone pathways, steps and patios have transformed what otherwise could have been a difficult ‘valley-side’ rear garden. Chris took all the time necessary at the beginning to get the scope and specifications right and agreed and then gave personal oversight throughout although I would note that his team are a great bunch and very professional. Highly recommended.
  • Avatar Sarah Scott ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    We have been using Golden Stones Gardening for years mainly for lawn mowing & hedge trimming with occasional building works consisting of new log store, installation of raised beds & fence erection; we received excellent service … More for all; all men on site were polite & cleared up properly at the end of each day.We recently asked them to lay a large patio which went completely around the property; a few natural complications were uncovered along the way but were all overcome quickly & efficiently, without delay & the end product looked fantastic....We would recommend this company to anyone who wants a job well done with first class results!!
  • Avatar Ann Jackson ★★★★★ a week ago
    Chris and his team have done several jobs for me, the latest being a wildlife pond. I know I can rely on good advice and excellent workmanship. All members of the team are polite and hardworking. They take a pride in their work. I would … More recommend them for any garden projects.
  • Avatar Anne Jeans ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Chris and his team have undertaken several projects including hard landscaping and planting, which together have transformed our entire garden into a fantastic area which is functional and practical. The team was extremely hardworking throughout … More with a high level of attention to detail and with the flexibility to adapt to changing requirements. They are perfectionists! We are extremely pleased with the finished garden and would highly recommend this professional team.
  • Avatar Helen Rudnicki ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Just before Christmas 2020, we had some landscaping in our garden undertaken by Goldenstones and were delighted with every aspect of the company’s professionalism, from our first call early in autumn, to a site meeting with Chris to give … More us a quote and a possible date, then completion of the agreed work.Their team of two, Dan and Anthony, were with us for four days and worked really hard in very challenging weather conditions to remove a large stubborn tree stump and surrounding soil in a bank at the top of our fairly steep back garden. They then built an extension to the existing retaining wall and shed base, preparing the levels for our new, larger shed. (They also removed and took away our old shed.).All this was done with cheerful disposition by the team, especially since access to the back of our garden is not easy and they had to carry all materials and machinery through a narrow gate with a tricky incline, made muddier by the rainfall. They also made good our garden and left it in as clean a condition as the weather would allow.Most importantly, we found that the aftercare was excellent. We did have a little “hiccup” which needed sorting out after they left and I sent a message to Chris the following day about our concerns. He replied that day and Dan and Anthony returned before 8 am the very next working day to sort it out, even although the company had stopped for their Christmas holidays by then. Very impressive! A company’s willingness to come back and sort out issues so promptly is, I feel, a real indication of their commitment to high standards of workmanship and professionalism. Even the company who followed on from them and erected our shed were very impressed by the job they did! I would certainly recommend Chris and his team without hesitation.
  • Avatar Margaret Sheather ★★★★ 3 months ago
    I now have some well-designed and executed outdoor storage in place of a "dead" bit of space. It blends in really well with its location. The team working on it were easy to have around, worked hard and to time. Very pleased. … More
  • Avatar Stephen Earley ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Golden Stones re-laid our patio over 3 days in September and we are delighted with the result. 3/4 workmen worked very hard for 3 days -they were very professional and particular in all they did and everything was done to a high standard … More .The Indian Sandstone in Fossil that Chris recommended looks superb. The Company had laid patios for two of our children -also very pleased - which is why we used them.
  • Avatar Gareth Reynolds ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Chris and his team are our go-to gardening and landscapers since we moved to the area about 8yrs ago. Their quality of work and attention to detail is outstanding, building dry stone walls, patios and various raised flower and veg beds … More for us.They've shown great manners, respect for neighbours and always tidy up extremely well. I have no problem recommending Chris and the team to anybody.
  • Avatar Wren Duyvestein ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Chris and the team have done several bits of work for us to date - fencing and rebuilding of a stone wall. Both done so skillfully that neighbors called them in for the same! The whole team are polite, punctual and hardworking - can't … More recommend them enough. Quality work built to spec - nothing but praise from us.
  • Avatar Christine Woolfenden ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    From the initial meeting to date, we have been thrilled with the work Golden Stones have undertaken on our behalf.Our back garden was an open 'field' of about 3/4 acre. It was a flat, wind-swept, blank space. We had a vague idea … More of what we wanted this space to become; Chris listened to our ideas, took everything on board and designed and built a woodland glade garden that now fills us with both pleasure and pride in equal measure.Chris and his team worked so hard, through all weather conditions to create our garden within time-frame and to budget, and were happy to both suggest and accommodate creative tweeks to the original plan as work progressed.Throughout our project, we felt that Chris and his team really cared about constructing the very best garden they could for us, and the results speak for themselves. We cannot recommend Chris Blackwell and his team highly enough.
  • Avatar Ben Morgan ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Chris and team completed some landscaping and patio work for me. Having them on site was a total pleasure. They worked quickly and with great effect producing exactly what I wanted and leaving no mess whatsoever behind. I wouldn't … More hesitate to recommend them to anyone locally who was looking for landscaping and garden design services.
  • Avatar David Lanagan ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Goldenstones have been used 2-3 times by us now, Chris has suggested a number of innovative/different options based upon a huge back catalogue of work in some very interesting properties. The team are always courteous, clean up after themselves … More every day and really seem to get through a hell of a lot in a day! I’d heartily recommend them and we’ll certainly be continuing to use them for the next phases of our garden projects over the next couple of years.
  • Avatar Princess Sarah ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Chris and the guys recently completed a garden make over for us that we are so happy with. The finish exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail and quality were fantastic. Great experience from start to finish for our project. … More Would highly recommend
  • Avatar Tara Gratton ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Garden redesigned, cleared and patio created. Absolutely delighted with the result. Work completed ahead of time - extremely professional company - worked throughout all weathers. Have greatly enjoyed the result and would highly recommend. … More
  • Avatar Andy Wood ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    The team at Golden Stones Laid me a new patio this summer. Im over the moon with the finish. Chris and the team were helpful in the ideas to improve the design. I have since had them back to erect some fencing and again another great job. … More They come highly recommended.